?

Log in

No account? Create an account
FF Sparks (Casual)

[Politics] Virginia Residents Take Note

I know a few others have already mentioned this, but Mindy Klasky sent a letter to folks, and has given us permission to repost it anywhere that it might make a difference.

As many of you know, I am not a political creature. I do not spend a lot of my time tracking legislation or otherwise following the events in Richmond. Nevertheless, a bill has been brought before the Virginia House of Delegates which endangers the privacy rights of every woman in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Virginia House Bill 1677 requires a woman to report any miscarriage to local law enforcement within twelve hours of experiencing that unfortunate event. The bill does not distinguish between early and late miscarriages. Failure to report is a class one misdemeanor (the same category of crime as statutory rape, arson, and stalking), with penalties of up to one year in prison and a fine of $2500. (Please note that the bill does not address *abortion*; it merely addresses miscarriage.)

You can read more about the bill here:

http://democracyforvirginia.typepad.com/democracy_for_virginia/2005/01/legislative_sen.html

If you live in Virginia, and if you are as appalled as I am, I urge you to respond today, contacting Delegate Cosgrove, your local delegates, and all Virginia residents who should oppose such a stunning invasion of our privacy.

Mindy

Comments

Hrm. Actually, it is as bad as it sounds.

It would seem in Virginia, they've already defined fetal death as being any pregnancy that doesn't result in life birth, at any gestational age:

When fetal death reporting is required:
Under the definition set forth above, a fetal death certificate must be filed for every product of
conception, irrespective of the period of gestation, which does not result in a live birth. (Section 32.1-264
Code of Virginia)

http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/misc/itop97.pdf

Interestingly enough, the same holds in 11 other states and territories, most of the rest require it at 20 weeks or greater.